Posted by: magmatist | April 12, 2010

Winning T-shirt design

The judges have chosen the design for the 2010 MBVRC Fundraiser T-shirt. Everyone who sent in a design will get a free shirt in appreciation. Thanks to all who submitted a design: Jenny, Locke Howley, Courtenay Brown, Steph Abegg, Ben Wildeboer, and S. Churchill.

The winner is…

Jenny Locke Howley, of Hanover, New Hampshire, who sent this design:

The front design for the 2010 MBVRC fundraiser t-shirt, by Jenny Locke Howley.

The committee liked this design because it accentuated Baker, rather than other features at the volcano. We also liked the artistic effect of the trees. The back of the shirt will have a new design this year, a table of Baker’s volcanic history.

Who is Jenny? Well, I asked her and she said:

2010 T-shirt design winner, Jenny Locke Howley.

“I grew up in Woodinville, WA and spent many family vacations visiting volcanoes in the Washington and Oregon Cascades (including Mt. Baker) which sparked my interest in geology.  I went to UW where I got my bachelor’s in geology 2005 with an emphasis on volcanoes and geochemistry. In 2006 I moved out to New Hampshire to get my master’s at UNH studying the geochemistry of basalts erupted in the East African Rift.  Now I’m working at Dartmouth College in Hanover, NH, as a lab manager of a geochemistry lab.

Though I’ve lived on the east coast for almost 4 years now, I still take many trips back to Washington where the rest of my family still lives, and the northern Cascades remain my favorite mountains.  My husband and I are hoping to take a vacation at Mt. Baker next summer.

I learned about the MBVRC through the Volcano List Serve.  You’re website is great, I love keeping up on the latest happenings at Mt. Baker!

Thank you again, and I’ll be watching for further details when the shirts come out so I can get my 3 shirt order in!”

Well, Jenny, thanks for your design. Maybe you can connect with some Baker workers this summer when you visit.

Shirts should be printed and offered for sale in a month or maybe even less. Stay tuned for order information.

Dave Tucker


Leave a Reply

Categories

